Mega GEARS Round 1 Report – Bathurst

Unified Petroleum Autosports got the perfect start in the 2020 Mega GEARS season by taking a 1-2 finish at Bathurst. While Kyran Parkin took pole by two tenths, the Fury Racing driver had a disastrous first lap, colliding with team mate April Carlsvard. Both cars would go on to have several more incidents early in the race, with both being out by half distance.

Behind Filippakos, who took a commanding win, a strategic battle was developing for 2nd, with drivers on different tyre strategies. James Lambert chose to repair damage at his stop, coming out ahead of Campbell Wallis, who elected not to change tyres, and Bjorn Golda, who was struggling with tyre wear. Wallis, however, lost a lot of time with a spin soon after pitting and was eventually overtaken by Mark Singleton in the closing laps. Ahead, Lambert’s superior tyre wear saw him pass Golda and eventually finish fifteen seconds ahead.

Allie Ferrie was running a comfortable 2nd and would almost certainly have finished in that position without a crash at one-quarter distance which forced an early pit stop, however the Aureus driver recovered to 4th by the end.

In a race of attrition, all eight finishers scored points. Chris Williamson drove a steady race to 7th while rookie Martin Fernandez survived several scares to record a points finish in 8th, albeit eight laps down at the end.

The next round is on Sunday, 22nd March 2020 at Mosport Park, Canada.

Race Result
Pos Up Driver Team Time/Retired Qual Time Fastest lap
1 ▲1 Lazaros Filippakos Unified Petroleum Autosports 01:41:33.70 01:57.47 01:59.22
2 ▲6 James Lambert Unified Petroleum Autosports 01:01.84 01:59.94 02:00.43
3 ▲2 Bjorn Golda Bad Pun Racing 01:16.05 01:58.53 02:00.63
4 ▼1 Allie Ferrie Aureus Motorsport 01:33.03 01:57.98 01:59.75
5 ▲1 Mark Singleton Bad Pun Racing 01:42.99 01:58.57 01:59.81
6 ▲1 Campbell Wallis Kaibutsu Racing 01:56.93 01:59.14 02:00.09
7 ▲3 Chris Williamson Aureus Motorsport +3 laps 02:03.78 02:04.36
8 ▲4 Martin Fernandez Realish Racing NDP +8 laps 02:08.12 02:12.24
9 ▼5 April Carlsvard Fury Racing Suspension 01:58.12 02:00.30
10 ▲1 Steve Kirk Realish Racing NDP Accident 02:06.26 02:12.09
11 ▼2 Joshua Anderson Cosmo Seiki Japan Accident 02:02.24 02:03.25
12 ▼11 Kyran Parkin Fury Racing DNF 01:57.27 02:00.03
Championship Top 5s

Lazaros Filippakos (UPA) – 10; James Lambert (UPA) – 8; Bjorn Golda (Bad Pun Racing) – 6; Allie Ferrie (Aureus) – 5; Mark Singleton (Bad Pun Racing) – 4

Unified Petroleum Autosports – 18; Bad Pun Racing; 10; Aureus Motorsport – 7; Kaibutsu Racing – 3; Realish Racing NDP – 1